Distance

Bursts of vivid memories played inside my head
With my eyes wide open and my weary feet taking me to a familiar path
I feel like I am here but my soul is traveling far, far away
In search of you…

In this sea of madness before me, the only way to truly remember you by
Is to shut my eyes and listen to the same rustling of trees,
Gusts of wind and the annoyances of city traffic
That I have learnt to associate with you
They were in the background whilst listening to you talk a thousand miles away
Now when I listen to them,
It’s the same scenario a few months back
Only that this time, they are here, and you are not…

I am longing for you
I want to know how it feels like to press my lips against yours
Hold you so tightly and then look you in the eyes and say how much you mean to me

We have always said that life is short,
That we should chase our dreams and find true happiness
So if life is short, then I’m not sure if I would live long enough to see this battle end

If the battle that I fight is against my heart,
If the battle that I fight is against fear,
If the battle that I fight is against myself…

But when I lay my sword down, my weary heart escapes
And blissfully runs back to you without any care in the world
And when it does, I take in the moment
I savour the inexplicable sensations that happen every single moment that your soul touches mine

But just like how the tides ebb, those stolen moments do not last long
I get pulled away over and over again
By the sound of the blowhorn
To tell me that the battle has once again resumed

But those short, golden moments are worth the fight
If they prove that there is something beyond the physical life that we are living,
If there really is something greater than ourselves that we don’t have the capacity to comprehend just yet,
If there is hope that one day I would be able to explain why I still feel connected to you…

Despite the distance,
Despite the silence,
Despite the resistance,
Despite the confusion,
Despite the tears…

For that glimmer of hope,
I will fight this constant battle
If victory means having to walk away into the sunset with your heart in my hands til the end…

Leave a comment